Skip to content

Member Spotlight: Hilary Nieukirk, CPSM

May 7, 2014

Our recurring member spotlight feature returns! This time around, Jessica Darling of Stantec brings us a lively discussion with Hilary Nieukirk, CPSM, of Shawmut Design and Construction. To read the entire interview, and to see all our past Member Spotlights, check out our website. 

A recent recipient of her CPSM Certification, Hilary is a 1-year veteran of SMPS and a seasoned professional services marketer of 10 years. Hilary is an advocate of the CPSM Certification and is involved in the CPSM study group, where she recently led the study session for Domain 4 – SOQ/Proposals. She’s found the experience to be validating both professionally and personally.

Why did you choose to become a CPSM?
The CPSM Certification was a great way for me to check in on my skills. I’ve been doing this for long enough now, but to validate my understanding of our roles and best industry practices that I already did day-to-day was invaluable. I had only waited so long because of the time commitment, unfortunately. Luckily though, since I moved to my current position, I’ve had the support of a marketing team and the encouragement from my firm to pursue certification. So I couldn’t pass up the chance to commit the time and just do it. I’m so glad I did. It was also a chance for me to better understand area of A/E/C Marketing that I haven’t had a lot of exposure to in my past roles.

What’s rocking your work world today?
Lean construction, communicating what it is, asking ourselves “do we do that?” (For the record, we have been doing it, but it had never been a buzzword like it is now.) So now we’re tasked with identifying this experience more clearly both retroactively and going forward.

What characteristic do you value the most in your coworkers?
Being open to opinions and able to both take and provide constructive criticism are the most important day-to-day qualities that I appreciate.  We’re all on the same team, so for me, working together on a deliverable and being able to have an open dialogue is the best way to get quality information together.

For the rest of the conversation, check out our Member Spotlights page on the SMPS Boston website. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

