Skip to content

What do you want to read?

April 12, 2011

A Letter from SMPS Boston President, Matt Hawk, Sr. Marketing Coordinator at Fay, Spofford & Thorndike

Writing a blog post isn’t hard. You need a topic and the momentum to write and rewrite until the argument is short and succinct. So far, I have relied upon my instincts to write these posts to elicit a thoughtful response. As a blogger, the nugget is the conversation following the post. Validated, the last blog I posted garnered five comments. Alas, two from me, but it felt good. The first two comments began a discourse, while my responses were to provoke more.

As the president of SMPS Boston, my job is to be available to you, the committees, and the board of directors. However, this post is a direct order from your president. What would you like to read from the president of SMPS Boston? I am not limiting you to them, but my general qualifications are:

  • Preparing proposals
  • Building internal relationships with professional staff
  • Committee work
  • Word processing
  • Cooking on a charcoal grill
  • Alluring alliteratuer
  • Technical writing/collaboration
  • Family man
  • Struggling with social media in the AEC industry
  • Difficulty with time management
  • Maker of to-die-for vinaigrettes

This is subject to debate, especially since my wife has long surpassed me in firing up a tasty T-bone. I’ve got four more of these to write, and then you’ll get a new perspective. I want to end my term battered, twisted, and all used up, in a good way. I ask you for your suggestions and comments. Fire away.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Valerie permalink
    April 14, 2011 1:20 pm

    I’ve been hearing a lot about Prezi lately, making me realize that I may be behind the curve in what “new” tools the industry is using for interview presentations. A what’s hot and what’s not look at presentations would be valuable. And I’m never adverse to a good vinaigrette recipe.

Leave a Reply

