Skip to content

Reflecting on 2010, Making a Difference in 2011

December 16, 2010

A Letter from SMPS Boston President, Matt Hawk, Sr. Marketing Coordinator at Fay, Spofford & Thorndike

Are you satisfied with the (un)spoken resolutions you made 350 days ago? Have you met your five-year goal? What about your ten-year one? Are your efforts paying off? Have you told someone what you want? What actions are you taking to meet your goals?

Not just a year has passed, but an entire decade. 2010 requires more reflection than the typical year. As I pause and reflect upon the last year and this decade, I realize it has been the most significant one of my life. I found my career, my wife, my family, and my home.  In all, I’ve had a successful run, and hope it will continue. 

There are things you can control, things you cannot, and things in which you need help. In order to make the most of life, you must give all of yourself to your cause, whether it is for yourself, for your work, for your organization, for your family, or for a combination.  Make no mistake, it is you that is required to make a difference. 

Most of my work as President of the Chapter still lies ahead of me, but it was my growing SMPS participation over this decade that put me in a position to take on this role. I found education and friendship from people to help me make smart decisions.  In 1999, I was just a member, attending events and moved by the programming to join a committee. There I learned that committee volunteers make change happen through resolve and generosity. Volunteering gave way to committee leadership, then the Board of Directors, and here I am. I hope to see more of you in 2011.

Happy New Year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne Crowe Kroger permalink
    December 16, 2010 1:11 pm

    Well said Matt!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Reflecting on 2010, Making a Difference in 2011 « Outlook Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

